## Awards and Honours to Shri Sitendu Mandal, Chief Scientist and Head, Specialty Glass Technology Division, CSIR-CGCRI

NRDC Meritorious Innovation Award 2013 for Manufacturing of Special Glass Beads for Nuclear Waste Immobilization



Dr. V. K. Saraswat, Member, National Institute for Transforming India(NITI) Ayog, presenting the first Innovation award of the year, 2013 during Innovate India 2015 to the Scientists of CSIR-Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute, Kolkata at PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore on the 25th February 2015

Best Technology Award 2015 – 2016 for Technology on Manufacturing Specialty Low Melting High Sodium Content Borosilicate Glass Bead



Director, CSIR-CGCRI presenting the Institutional (CSIR-CGCRI) Best Technology award for the year 2015 – 2016 during the occasion National Technology Day celebrated on May 31 at the Institute

Certificate of Merit under CSIR Technology Award for Innovation-2017 for "Technology of Manufacturing Special Glass Beads for Nuclear Waste Immobilization"



Honorable President of India, presenting the CERTIFICATE OF MERIT under CSIR TECHNOLOGY AWARD FOR INNOVATION-2017 to the Awardees of CSIR-Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute, Kolkata at Vijyan Bhawan. New Delhi on the 26th September 2017

:

Skoch Order of Merit Award 2017 for Glass Beads Preparation Technology for Vitrification of High Level Radioactive Waste (HLW) under Skoch Transformation



## CSIR TECHNOLOGY AWARD 2018 CATEGORY: INNOVATION

CGCRI's nomination entitled "An Innovative Technology for Manufacturing of Specialty Material for Immobilization of High Level Radioactive Waste" has been selected for CSIR Technology Award 2018 in the category of Innovation.





The awardees from Specialty Glass Technology Division are Mr. Sitendu Mandal, Chief Scientist, Dr. Ranjan Sen, Chief Scientist, Mr. Alok Roy Chowdhury, Senior Technical Officer (1), Mr. SirshenduGhorui, Senior Technical Officer (1), Mr. ShibasishBarik, Technical Officer and Mr. Panchu Gopal Pal Chowdhury Sr. Technician (2). Following the practice in place, the award had been presented to CSIR-CGCRI in a specially organized ceremony on September 26, 2018, the CSIR Foundation Day at VigyanBhavan, New Delhi, where awardees were recognized with a cash prize of Rs. two lacks, plaque and framed citation by Dr. V K Saraswat, Member, NITI Aayog, Gol. The programme was graced by Dr Harsh Vardhan, Hon'ble Minister, Science & Technology Earth Sciences, Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Poster Award for "New Generation Refractory of Superior Properties for High Density Specialty Glass Melting" from



Dr. A. Agnihotri, Director, JNARDDC presented the  $1^{st}$  Prize of the Poster Award for "New Generation Refractory of Superior Properties for High Density Specialty Glass Melting" in the  $23^{rd}$  International Conference on Non-ferrous Minerals and Metals 2019 (ICNFMM 2019) during 12-13 July 2019 at The Lalit Great Eastern, Kolkata.

## Recognition:

- Fellow, Indian Institute of Ceramics (IIC)
- Fellow, West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology (WAST)



Receiving WAST Fellowship under Section XII: Environmental Sciencesduring 29th Annual General Meeting of WAST held on December 17, 2019 at CSIR-IICB.



Bharat Ratna Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, former President of India, and also former Chairman of our Research Council being presented with memento by Mr. Sitendu Mandal as per advice by Director, CSIR-CGCRI made of Specialty Glass (RSW Glass)



Receiving the "Certificate of Merit" under CSIR Technology Award for Innovation 2017 for Technology on "Manufacturing Special Glass Beads for Nuclear Waste Immobilization" from Honorable President of India during the occasion of 75th CSIR Foundation day at VigyanBhavan, New Delhi on the 26th September 2017